RSS

Fangirl Friday – The Up and Coming Edition

31 Jan

There are times you know upon first sight that, yes, this person is going to be the object of my fangirl (or boy) obsession.  Other times you can watch them in a dozen different things before they star in that one role and it’s all over for your poor fan-heart.  And then there are these people, the ones that have potential but they’re not quite there yet.  You know you like them but it’s not quite to the squeeing level.  So this Fangirl Friday is dedicated to the up and comers.

Tom-Mison-of-Sleepy-HollowTom Mison – If you are not watching Sleepy Hollow, well it’s too late now for this season, go find it on the web somewhere.  For those of us who have been following along, hopefully this picture will get us through spring and summer until Sleepy Hollow returns in the fall.  I really, really like Tom Mison as Ichabod Crane.  It’s not only that he looks good with his dark long locks, but he’s also so alluring with his whole gentlemanly stature and British accented line delivery.  I haven’t seen Mison in anything else and am a little afraid to.  I don’t want the fangirl fantasy to end.

john_cho_982John Cho – I have never watched any of the Harold and Kumar movies and while I saw him as Sulu in the Star Trek reboot, that movie had too much eye candy (and plot confusion) for me to have really noticed him.  But then came the show Go OnGo On was an excellent series that was inexplicably canceled in my opinion.  It made me like Matthew Perry, which says so much.  But it also introduced me to John Cho.  He’s a very good comedic actor and I found myself missing him on episodes where he didn’t have a major part.  So I was pleasantly surprised when he showed up on Sleepy Hollow.  It was interesting seeing him in a bit more serious, even crazy role. Now I may have to go back and watch Harold and Kumar, or I hope he has much more work in the future.

ming-na-wen-at-marvel-Ming-Na Wen – I know people either love or hate Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., I love it by the way.  And I have to admit the big part of me watching it was the always adorable Clark Gregg as Agent Phil Coulson.  But I’ve also I find myself caring about all the main ensemble characters.  I know the secondary focus away from Coulson is supposed to be on the young and confused Skye  (Chloe Bennett) but seriously, I’m watching to see what Melinda May (Ming-Na Wen) does next.  Some people may find her character cold, maybe even one dimensional, but I say they aren’t paying enough attention.  If it was a guy in the same role we call him dark, mysterious.  That’s how I find May.  I think Wen walks the fine line between being mysterious and boring really well.  Her face expressions that give away just enough to those who are paying attention without having to shout “I really don’t mean what I’m saying” have made for very nice plot development on several episodes.  Plus it is nice to see a woman over 30 (she’s 50) kick butt on TV.  I haven’t seen her in anything else that I remember, but now I’m going to have to go back and watch Stargate Universe to see if she’s always been that good.

bill-nighy-2010Bill Nighy – And speaking of older, for me fangirling knows no gender, ethnic group, or age.  Which brings me to my last up and comer, Bill Nighy, age 64.  Of the ones I mentioned he has the greatest potential to be my next fangirl obsession.  He’s already the tipping point of whether I’ll give a movie a look or not.  I just think the man has good taste.  He certainly seems to exude it when he’s on the screen.  I can’t tell you when I first saw Bill Nighy in a movie but I know which movie I first found him cool, Wild Target.  Even though he plays a somewhat stiff charcter, I couldn’t help it I just… *sigh*.  This wasn’t helped the least bit by the movie Pirate Radio (aka The Boat that Rocked), where he plays the owner of a radio station in the 60s.  Smooth as silk and a cool as a cucumber, and then he dances… okay maybe I’m a fangirl of his after all.  I leave you with a brief clip of the dance from Pirate Radio. The clip should start at 1:32, if not fast forward to there.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 31, 2014 in Fangirl Friday

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

James Pennington

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKYGOGLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

