RSS

Thor: The Dark World – Movie 311 of 365

08 Nov

THOR_TheDarkWorld2013I’ll have to admit I went into this movie with great trepidation; I wasn’t a fan of the first movie. Thor was okay, I guess, but I really hate the son is a bit of a party boy then something happens and he man’s up and takes responsibility movies.  Plus I really didn’t find anyone I could actually care about in the first movie, sorry Loki fans.  Then there was no where near enough Heimdall (Idris Elba) in that first outing. At least this time Heimdall takes off the darn helmet.

Okay, Thor: The Dark World has some good parts besides that and overall I will say it’s better than the first.  Better, but I wouldn’t go as far to call it great. Now I know part of the problem is that I really can’t seem to get into high fantasy.  I usually miss a bit of what’s going on in the narrative and characters seems to be polarized in their personalities.  That and Odin (Anthony Hopkins) is as big of an ass as he was in the first movie.  There are some decent battle scenes but it still seems to be all Thor’s (Chris Hemsworth) show.  I know it’s his movie but I just think Captain America treated the other fighters a bit better.  Asgard is full of warriors, let them shine a bit more.  I definitely could’ve watched more of Sif’s (Jaimie Alexander) fighting skills.

The story line is basic, ancient badass Malekith (Christopher Eccleston), is trying to destroy the nine realms; Thor is trying to stop him.  There is of course more sibling emo times with Thor and Loki (Tom Hiddleston).  Loki is his usual crazy self, dialed back a bit from The Avengers so as not to outshine Thor.  And then there is the really really long distance romance between Thor and Jane Foster (Natalie Portman).  The romance didn’t make me want to barf near as much as the first time.  Actually, I liked Jane in this.

And now that I think of it, I didn’t want to smack Darcy (Kat Dennings) this time.  Darcy is still Darcy, but like Loki, dialed back a bit until she is just quirky, not annoying as hell.  And let’s not forget Erik Selvig (Stellan Skarsgård) who mostly just adds to the continuity and plausibility from The Avengers.

So why am I saying this movie is only good and not great?  I wanted more.  I was out of the theater in two hours.  That included the previews and all of the credits (because one never leaves a Marvel movie before the very last credit). Personally I think this movie needed at least another thirty minutes.  With that time they could’ve fleshed out so much more and it wouldn’t have felt rushed.  Explanations went flying by, scenes lacked depth and Thor once again is left seeming pretty flat as a character.  I don’t think this is Hemsworth, just lack of script.  Maybe they were pushing the time is of the essence point, but this movie is so much darker than the first and I don’t believe they really took advantage of that.

Do I feel like I wasted my time? Not really, there is plenty of great action and some touching bits as well.  Also, the funny bits are actually funny and don’t feel as forced as the first time.  However, I am hoping for a director’s cut of The Dark World with the rest of the scenes that would’ve have made this the movie I was hoping it would be.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 8, 2013 in Movies, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

James Pennington

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKYGOGLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

