RSS

Fangirl Friday – Clark Gregg

27 Sep

By gdcgraphics

Object of my obsession Robert Clark Gregg – April 2, 1962

My favorite appearances: The New Adventures of Old ChristineRichard Campbell,  Iron Man (1 and 2) , Thor, The Avengers, Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D.Agent Phil Coulson, Much Ado about NothingLenato

Usually an actor, particularly a male actor, acquires a bevy of fans because of their Hollywood looks and their sexy moves.  But Clark Gregg achieves it with a slightly goofy grin and a laid back demeanor, which we all know hides an undercover badass.  Nothing causes a visceral reaction from a Gregg fan so much so as two words, COULSON LIVES.

oldchristine

The New Adventures of Old Christine

But before he was Agent Phil Coulson he was Richard Campbell, the ex-husband of “old” Christine on The New Adventures of Old Christine. He was probably the only reason I gave the show a second chance.  I tell you it was the goofy smile that did me in.  You are not supposed to like the ex-husband who then replaces you with a woman with your same name.  But how can you not when it’s played by Gregg?

Agent Fanboy

Agent Fanboy

And that I think explains how Clark Gregg worms his way into fangirl’s hearts.  Showing up for entirely too small moments in the Marvel movieverse, he reminds you of that unassuming guy you know. Nice, respectful, funny, yet always in the friendzone.  But then he does something that gives you a small hint of the badass hiding underneath.  Now you are intrigued.

Then came The Avengers and we get a lot more of Gregg and everyone’s favorite S.H.I.E.L.D agent.  We are happy. We are, dare say, in love as our favorite agent also turns out to be a big ole fanboy and then… WHEDON!!!

By ABC/Bob D'Amico

By ABC/Bob D’Amico

But to quote Kaylee from FireflyEverything’s shiny… Not to fret.”  Because COULSON LIVES and we get to see him every week on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. The first episode, unlike 99% of my TV viewing I actually watched live; couldn’t wait for the HULU rebroadcast.  I’ve had to reserve myself to the one viewing of the pilot, lest I awaken the fan-fiction muse.  I can’t believe I haven’t dedicated a story to Agent Coulson yet.  I think I’m afraid of screwing it up. I’ve read a lot of fan-fiction on Coulson and although I like the pairings I would probably just write him as a loner. Married to his job and doing really cool stuff like the video below.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 27, 2013 in Fangirl Friday

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Fangirl Friday – Clark Gregg

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

James Pennington

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKYGOGLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

