RSS

Today’s Theme Music – Raise Your Glass

29 Aug

811074_42972383I’m not much for celebrations or parties.  It may have to do with being an introvert, although it’s probably because I’m socially awkward as hell. I ran away for the weekend to avoid having a 30th birthday party. I wasn’t sure if anyone would come if I threw one. And if people did come, how would I entertain them?  I was thrown a 31st birthday party.  It will go down in history as ground zero for the Martian death flu. Some nasty stomach virus was going around and most if not all of the attendees had it before, during, or after the party.  I had it before and during, spending most of the party with my head in HB’s lap; my fever broke just before the opening of gifts.

I haven’t had a birthday party since.

Attending parties is about the same.  I’m a dork, I don’t do small talk well, I always seem to go too deep too fast or I bring up what I think are pop culture references everyone knows. All I get is blank stares. Plus I have no decent party clothes.  Unemployment and weight gain has made me the queen of knit pants and graphic tees. The rare occasions I do dress up I feel overdressed.

So when I was asked to join the live voice chat for KJSR.net’s fifth anniversary show I was terrified.  Okay I’m not special, everyone who is a DJ, listener, or contributor, was asked to join in.  And since they are nice enough to allow me to do a weekly movie review segment (Been Caught Streaming, Friday nights during the Good Times with DJ Charlie show) it seemed like the right thing to do.  But the chat would be happening on and off the air and this was like a celebration so I was being invited to a virtual…party Dun-dun-dunnnnnn!

What if didn’t fit in?  It’s easy to hide most of my awkwardness during a pre-recorded segment.  I knew I couldn’t just hide in a virtual corner, SOMEONE wouldn’t let me do that.  So I talked, tentatively at first.  And you know what? I felt like I belonged.  I was in a virtual room with people I’ve never met and with the exception of a few hadn’t even had a chat conversation with.  Yet I felt more at ease than I had at any “party” before.  Why yes, I’m not normal, but you knew that already.

At 11p.m., the time the first broadcast day of KJSR.net ended, DJ Charlie proposed a toast to the station, DJs, contributors, and friends. Then he played this song. 

My drink was Rum-Chata

It was a nice party

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 29, 2013 in introspective, Music, Writing

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

The Archived Thoughts of a Former Professional Writer

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKY GO GLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

