RSS

Fangirl Friday – Forest Whitaker

16 Aug

Forest Whitaker 2

Object of my obsession Forest Steven Whitaker – July 15, 1961

My favorite appearances: The Experiment – Barris, The Air I Breathe – Happiness, Powder Blue – Charlie, Vantage Point – Howard Lewis

Forest Whitaker in Vantage Point

in Vantage Point

When people think fangirl they think of some female fawning and swooning over the latest hot actor with Hollywood looks and a hit tv show or movie.  I am so not like that.  I fangirl over so many things, actors, actresses, authors, entire tv shows, books, even musicians.  While looks are sometimes a factor, presence and talent are what sets my heart aflutter.  Which brings us to this week’s Fangirl Friday, Forest Whitaker.  I was rummaging through the hot actor/actress file in my head looking a potential subject this post when an interview with Mr. Whitaker came the tv for his newest film, Lee Daniels’ The Butler.  Sitting there listening to him I started to debate whether I was going to go see the movie this weekend.  Now I generally hate this type of movie, they either piss me off for one reason, or they piss me off for another.  But I will watch just about anything with Forest Whitaker.

Forest Whitaker in The Air I Breathe

in The Air I Breathe

When I started listing my favorite appearances by Forest Whitaker the problem wasn’t  finding enough, it was narrowing it down.  Most “hot” actors only have one or two performances that you like.  A few more you tolerate because of the eye candy.  But when I’m flicking through movie lists on Netflix and I see Forest is in a feature, I know I’m going to love at least part of it.  I’ve not seen a lot of his major movies like The Last King of Scotland or Ghost Dog but I’ve undercovered so many low distribution gems that I would’ve probably never watched had he not been in them.

I think the thing that impresses me most is that he always seems so comfortable in his own skin.  Even though many of his characters are timid or unsure, you never feel like Whitaker is forcing himself into the role, he just simply becomes the character.

I think my current favorite role of his is that of Barris in The Experiment.  First starting off as a timid, henpecked, man, the experiment turns him into this nearly psychotic leader.  It is sometimes difficult to watch the change because, as with every role, Forest Whitaker makes you not see a character, but a real person.  And that’s why I’m a Forest Whitaker fangirl.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 16, 2013 in Fangirl Friday

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

James Pennington

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKYGOGLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

