RSS

Today’s Theme Music – Creep

15 Aug

1039443_79054945

by nickanizer via stock.xchng

So I wasn’t planning on doing a theme music today but this song apparently won’t stop repeating in my head until I do.  There is something about Radiohead’s Creep that has universal appeal. We’ve all felt like we don’t belong at some point and wished we were special.

I know part of this earworm is triggered by marketing.  I love to write, I still like doing graphic design, I love working for myself but I can’t market worth crap. Marketing requires finding what makes you special, I don’t think I’m very special.  There are things I do in my life some people find unique or different, or more often weird but to me it’s just normal.  To me my housing situation is normal, I’ve lived it for over 10 years now.  I think it’s normal to be a black girl who loves science fiction and fantasy; who dates outside of her race; who would rather watch horror than romance; who prefers pretty much any musical genre to rap (although I’ve been listening to an embarrassing amount of Spose, I think it’s because he’s funny).  But I know what I consider normal makes me an outcast, and outsider, a creep.  In a room full of people I feel that I don’t belong there.

There is a thin line between special and strange. Unfortunately most of the time society gets to choose which side you are on.  I wish I was special.

And now the funny part…

I think this would be a great song to strip to.  About everytime I hear this song I can almost imagine it.  I picture this heavily tattooed, maybe pierced, person (gender changes each time and is of no consequence, same with their body composition), they are exquisitely beautiful in a sense that mainstream society will never get.  And they are dancing their heart out on stage. I’m not really concerned how much clothing is removed, just the physical embodiment of this song.

I think I want to see that for my birthday next year.

Anyone buying?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 15, 2013 in Music, Writing

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

The Archived Thoughts of a Former Professional Writer

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKY GO GLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

