RSS

What’s your theme song?

13 Jun

Most mornings I wake up with some song or another in my head.  It serves most times as the theme song for the day. This morning I woke up to Better Now by Collective Soul.  The universe is a bit of a joker because this morning I felt anything but better.  My allergies have been in overdrive causing me to cough so much that stomach acid has joined in.  Yeah it feels as bad as it sounds.  Add to that a pounding headache that seems in rhythm with the hammering rehab project next door and better is not even on the list of the first one hundred words I would use to describe my morning.

But I believe all my morning songs happen for a reason and I had to ask myself, am I better now than say a year ago.  Most definitely, because I would have dragged myself into work first thing this morning after working a late night because I was so afraid of losing the job that I inevitably lost anyway.  My stomach would be in knots as I did the work of two or three people and tried to coax a quickly failing printer to not die just yet.  There were many things I did actually like about my job, but the hours and the stress were going to kill me.

So am I better than say six months ago?  Well the constant unexplained weight gain, not so much.  But the fact that more than one person has found me attractive and pursuable inspite said weight gain is a bonus of huge proportions.  Also I haven’t been nearly as depressed as I have been.  Barring the current episode I can’t remember my last major depressive episode, and I think I’m coping with this one pretty well.   As a result, I’ve actually been a bit more social than I have been in years and becoming re-involved with things I had pushed aside for work.  Making a decent amount of money from Fiverr and offline freelance gigs is helping my mood as well.  So better now?  I guess the answer would be yes.

Now this song is a friend of mine’s theme song.  We have had several discussions of theme songs, occasionally swapping daily themes.  I don’t have a current theme song.  My day’s have them, my stories and the characters in them usually have more than one, but I haven’t had one in years.  My old theme song used to be Achin’ to Be by The Replacements but it doesn’t really fit me anymore I think.  So I’m still on the hunt for a new one.  I’ll know it when I hear it.

So do you have a theme song?  If so, what is it?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 13, 2013 in introspective, Music

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

The Archived Thoughts of a Former Professional Writer

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKY GO GLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

