RSS

Prometheus – Movie 123 of 365

22 May

Prometheus 2012I have a love/hate relationship with the Alien movie series; I loved Aliens (Alien 2), I can tolerate Alien 3, I haven’t seen Alien:Resurrection and the original Alien is a great sedative. So although the previews for Prometheus looked interesting, and Idris Elba as Janek and Noomi Rapace portraying Elizabeth Shaw, were looking good as usual, I didn’t want to get stuck in the theatre enduring a prequel snoozefest.

Luckily it wasn’t, for the most part.  Prometheus is about a group of scientist traveling to a planet to possibly find the origins to the human race.  So if this is a prequel, what does that have to do with the rest of the franchise?  I’m not sure, even after watching the movie, I can see some connections but not enough to call it a prequel.  And after doing some research it’s more of a prequel of sorts.  It takes place prior to Alien but those creatures may or may not (I found conflicting answers) be the ancestors of the nightmare inducing, Geiger designed, monstrosities we’ve all grown to cringe at and love.

I really tried to keep up with all the things going on but in the end I just decided to sit back and enjoy the movie. The plot is actually pretty interesting and for the most part is played out well.  It also has great world design, lots of cool equipment and special effects, a cast full of nice eye candy; but no so pretty that it makes it hard to believe they are scientists and grunt workers, and a decent chemistry between all involved.  Also, if you like yelling at smart people for doing dumb stuff, there is a lot of that in here too.

The “surprise” subplot was completely unnecessary in my opinion.  We are journeying to earth’s origins and if possibly and alien race created us. It’s enough story to work with, thank you.  Speaking of unnecessary  Charlize Theron‘s character Meredith Vickers.  This had nothing to do with Theron’s acting. It just felt like sometimes there was too many characters to keep up with when everyone really wasn’t bringing anything to the party.  But she’s important to the subplot which I read later has something to do with  the series but honestly, I just didn’t care about that.

Another thing that bothered me is I really wanted Rapace to be harder, more bad ass.  I know I was unfairly comparing her Shaw to Sigourney Weaver‘s Ripley.  But you know, I probably wasn’t the only one. Also if you have seen The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo trilogy you know Rapace can bring it.  Maybe this character wasn’t written that way. Either that or they are saving it for the sequel, much like with Ripley.

The true standout performance though was Michael Fassbender as the android David.   Fassbender seems to play the cool, controlled, and  devious characters almost a bit too well.  And while I thought Lance Henriksen was great and creepy as Bishop in Aliens, I thought David was infinitely more developed and interesting.

As with the first Alien movie I’ll probably need to rewatch it to catch and understand everything but at least this time I won’t be falling asleep.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 22, 2013 in Movies, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Prometheus – Movie 123 of 365

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

James Pennington

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKYGOGLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

