RSS

Plant some S#*% Chronicles – Part 1

22 May

Wild Strawberry

Wild strawberry in my yard

So inspired by the wonderful TED Talk of Rob Finley, I decided that even though it’s probably a little late I will conquer the weeds and restart my garden.  My garden used to be a fairly pretty and successful thing.  But then year’s of garden misfires and stress elsewhere I kind of let it go.  Always I said, I’ll work on it the next day, week, month… but that time never came.  And then like with most neglected things you are so embarrassed  so overwhelmed with the enormity of fixing it that you just put it out of your mind.  It was easy with my garden.  It’s nearly impossible to see from our kitchen window and there was never a reason to go into the back yard.

The beds with frames removed.

The beds with frames removed.

Finally I confronted my folly and it was ugly.  Not only was the garden severely overgrown but the monkey grass behind it was taking over, growing to a height that had easily passed the fence behind it. I felt hopeless, there was nothing I could do to fix this mess.  However, I would promise myself every week that I would do something about it, even though I clearly had no idea even where I would start.

Frames and dismantled pipe trellis

Frames and dismantled pipe trellis

What was a big help besides Mr. Finley’s great talk was that my housemate and a friend tackled the Monkey Grass issue.  It took  three weeks of yard waste recycling (95 gallon cart) to get rid of all the cut leaves.  The next part was removing the raised bed frames to more easily dig out the weeds and old plants from the bed.  Now I am in no way, shape, or form in top physical form, I would barely agree to good physical form.  However, when I want to get something done I’m stubborn as hell.  So I work until I can’t catch my breath and my back pain is at about a 7 or 8 then I take a break.  It took a couple of tries but I got all the frames up and away from the beds.

The first two beds weeded

The first two beds weeded

Today I started the weeding process.  It’s slow going because all I’m using is a shovel.  A rototiller probably would have helped but I’m afraid of  most power tools.  I can use a drill and that’s about it.  So it’s slow going but it got done.  Well two beds at least.  Hopefully the other two beds finished tomorrow, then frames back down, buy dirt and then FINALLY plant some s#*%.

On a slightly related note, this year seems to be good for wild strawberries.  I wonder if I should attempt the more cultivated variety.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 22, 2013 in Gardening, Writing

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

James Pennington

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKYGOGLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

