RSS

Killing Them Softly – Movie 96 of 365

12 Apr

(watched 4/6/13)

Killing Them Softly 2012You can’t judge a movie by it’s preview.  I was looking forward to seeing this movie, good actors, an interesting plot and fulfilled one of my movie guilty pleasures, hit men.  However, Killing Them Softly
didn’t deliver as promised.  At best it was a few flashes of cinematic brilliance strung together with dialogue that wasn’t all that interesting and a annoying back theme running throughout.  Now I am willing to admit that my opinion may be skewed by the fact that I couldn’t see the first 20 minutes of the movie, only hear it.  Bad DVD rental and I couldn’t get another copy that same day.  So during that time I really had to depend on the dialogue only.  But nothing I saw in the rest of the movie made me feel like I missed much in the beginning.

Killing Them Softly is about a robbery and a hit man sent in the clean up the mess.  Three fairly amateurish robbers target Markie Trattman’s (Ray Liotta) mob protected card game.   The robbery causes people to avoid the other mob protected games causing the mob to lose money.  They then bring in Jackie Cogan (Brad Pitt) to deal with the situation.

This should have been a good movie.  It had great casting including Pitt, Liotta, and James Gandofini.  It had interesting cinematics, I particularly loved the times when they slowed the action down. With this one shooting it’s not just someone being shot which takes a millisecond; but all the things that go on once the bullet is shot, glass breaking, victim reactions etc.  Interesting, but yet I just couldn’t  get into this movie.  It reminded me very much of how I felt after watching Revolver.  It was directed by Guy Ritchie and starred Jason Statham, two of my favorites. However, despite the interesting filming style and plot concept I will probably never watch that movie again. The same is true of this one.  I’m not saying don’t watch it because there are some good parts, I’m just saying lower your expectations, now lower them again.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 12, 2013 in Movies, Reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

The Archived Thoughts of a Former Professional Writer

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKY GO GLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

