RSS

Wreck It Ralph – Movie 90 of 365

31 Mar

Wreck-It Ralph 2012I’ve resisted seeing Wreck-It Ralph for a while.  I just wasn’t in the mood for a chick-flick trip down memory lane.  I had seen Toy Story and except for the little green men really didn’t care for it.  Yeah I know, I’m a horrible person.  But Wreck-It Ralph was at the “dollar” theater today so I figured I might as well see it.  If it was horrible I would just lose the time and not that much money.  In the beginning, I was sure I was wasting time in the theater.  Wreck-It Ralph (John C. Reilly)  is a video game character, more appropriately, he’s the bad guy in the Fix-It Felix Jr. game.  For 30 years, day in and day out he wrecks things, Felix Jr. (Jack McBrayer) fixes them, and then Ralph gets thrown off the top of the apartment building.  At night when the humans are away, Felix Jr. and the rest of the game characters live and party in the nice apartment building while Ralph is regulated to the dump. Needless to say Ralph is getting a tired of this.  He wants friends, he wants praise, he wants something to sleep on besides bricks and garbage.  But only good guys get to sleep in the apartments, so Ralph goes on a quest to become a good guy.

This movie gets better over time.  About the first quarter of the movie I was bored.  I got the references to the old arcade games I used to play as a child but it really didn’t do anything for me.  Once Ralph starts his adventure the pacing gets better and that probably has a lot to do with an added plot involving the character Vanellope (Sarah Silverman) who is a glitch in the game Sugar Rush.  With having someone for Ralph to interact and connect with makes this movie infinitely better.  By the end I’m a little teary-eyed and darn-it kids movies aren’t supposed to do that to me.

The storyline is good once it gets going.  The effects are great, especially all the little minor things that made it feel like a video game world, like how the eight-bit game characters moved a certain way even when they weren’t drawn eight-bit.  The way some things were pixelated like it would be in the game.  I love how they are able to travel between games.  However, the part I like the best, really had nothing to do with the storyline per-say.  It was that the kid playing the first-person shooter game was a girl; that Sugar Rush was played by boys and the squadron leader in the, I assume Heavy Gear take off game, was female.  It was nice that they didn’t go traditional here and I think it made the movie even more universally appealing.   I really loved the ending, I can’t tell you why because it would give things away, but let’s it’s Disney feel, but not your usual Disney ending.  And darn-it  I had to wipe all that dust out of my eyes before the theater house lights came up.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 31, 2013 in Movies, Reviews

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

The Archived Thoughts of a Former Professional Writer

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKY GO GLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

