RSS

Brick – Movie 84 of 365

25 Mar

BrickI’m a fan of Joseph Gordon-Levitt although I have to admit I haven’t seen many of his movies. So I’ve been throwing whatever there was of his available on Netflix streaming into my never ending queue.  And of course never seeming to get around to seeing them.  Today I finally watched Brick.  Now it seems that people either love or hated this movie if Netflix reviews are to be any judge.  I think the people who hated it probably didn’t get the fact it’s supposed to be 1940’s noirish because the word cliche’ kept getting thrown around in the reviews.  Personally I’m a big fan 40’s noir and gumshoe detectives so I caught the attempt at replicating the dialogue style quickly.  It’s not done perfectly but I can see what they were attempting.  It kinda reminded me of the all kid version movie Bugsy Malone from 1976.  Not in the style but basically a bunch of kids trying to imitate a style they have no real first hand knowledge of.

Brick is about Brendan ( Joseph Gordon-Levitt, a loner high school student who is trying to save his ex-girlfriend Emily and punish those who put her in trouble in the first place.  In order to do this Brendan with the help of his friend The Brain (Matt O’Leary) must navigate the underground crime ring of his school.  Never sure who to trust or what to believe Brendan must follow the trail to it’s end even if what he finds out is not necessarily something he really wants to know.

I liked this film, it was different than many teenage cast movies.  To me it’s about on par with Assassination of a High School President but a much more somber tone.  The problem I have with it is the dialogue.  Some of the characters really need to learn diction and it makes things especially difficult because they speak sometimes in a unfamiliar slang that is necessary to understand in order to keep track of the players. Once I turned on closed captioning I could keep up with the movie much better.  Some actors put in some really nice performances including Noah Segan as Dode, Noah Fleiss as Tug, and Lukas Haas as The Pin.  Although I’m not so sure if with Haas if it was the acting or that his look was so interesting.

This movie gets better as it goes along and so does JGL’s acting. By the end I was really liking this movie.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 25, 2013 in Movies, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

James Pennington

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKYGOGLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

