RSS

Morning Inspiration – Flickering Lights

16 Mar

I haven’t written a poem in about twenty years.  I don’t remember the last poem, but I remember the when because it was about the same time I recited Please Master by Allen Ginsberg in front of my college creative writing class.  I hated the teacher; reciting this poem, she had asked us to recite our favorite, was my passive-aggressive attempt at revenge.  At the time I was still in the early stages of my love with the work of Allen Ginsberg.  And while Please Master wasn’t my favorite, it would serve my purpose.  Would have served had I not, partway through, started visualizing Allen Ginsberg, bespeckled, balding head, and greying grizzled beard, naked on his knees reciting this to his love Peter. I got a fit of giggles that I couldn’t seem to quell.  I didn’t realize then what I realize now, that sensuality and sexuality is beauty no matter the (adult) age, size, and shape of the deliverer.  But that’s a story for another time.

I hated this teacher because she had a clear bias of acceptable poetry.  There was one woman in my class who wrote the most beautiful heartwarming poetry.  But the teacher deemed it “Hallmark cards” and dismissed it.  Another woman wrote angtsy gothic crap that I could take or leave but the teacher lapped it up like cream.  My best friend, also in the class, wrote some surprisingly interesting poems.  Not surprising that they were interesting, but in all the years I had known her prior I hadn’t realize poetry was in her.  She had hit or miss success with the teacher.  Me, as usual, I did enough to skate by not really caring to conform to the teacher’s whims to impress her.

But this morning I watched this short film by Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s online production company/art collaborative HitRECord called Flickering Lights.

After the video finished, these words came tumbling into my head. Repeated themselves in a way that said if I didn’t find pen and paper that moment and write them down, I would sincerely regret it. It may not be a great poem, hell it may not even be good.  But after twenty years I wrote a poem and that’s good enough for me.

Untitled, 3/16/2013

Seeing something
so simple,
so pure,
so beautiful

Makes you want to
CREATE
COLLABORATE

Get out of bed
you sleepy head

The sun is shining,
the birds are singing

Don’t lay there another minute
for there is art to be made

The moment is NOW
The time…
is fleeting

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 16, 2013 in Videos, Writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

The Archived Thoughts of a Former Professional Writer

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKY GO GLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

