RSS

Polyamory Myths Debunked

17 Feb

I found this article (5 Myths of Polyamory Debunked, see excerpt below) well written and very truthful to my own experience. I can’t personally attest to the myth about kids because I don’t have children. But I’ve seen children of other polyamorous people and see them as no more functional or dysfunctional than children of monogamous households.

Unfortunately like any group outside the norm, people have a skewed view because of media.  Shows like Sister Wives and polyamorous couples on talk shows give just a snapshot of the many flavors of poly practice.

Currently I’ve been involved with my partner for almost 13 years, he has another partner and he’s been with her for 17.  We’ve all lived together for a little over 10 years but it was more happenstance than plan that it ended up that way.  Me and his other partner do not consider “sister wives” and we have no sexual relationship.  More like BFFs although I have called her my heterosexual life mate.  Mainly cause we tend to bicker at times like an old married couple.  We are not constrained to just being in a relationship with him.  We both have had other relationships in the past just none currently.

I would like other relationships but not because something is missing from current one.  There are things we don’t share in common and that’s okay.  I’ve know I wanted more than one relationship since I was a child, before I even knew there was a word like polyamory or that it was an option.  I wanted a farm were all my loves could live and we’d share common spaces as well as have our  own houses.  I’m an introvert so I need my own space.  I haven’t achieve that, but one day hope to.  I also hope that there is a time where the way I live my life is accepted and not seen as the freak show the media tends to report it as.  Studies like this one I think will help.

Excerpt: Researchers estimate that as many as 5 percent of Americans are currently in relationships involving consensual nonmonogamy — that is, permission to go outside the couple looking for love or sex.

The boundaries in these relationships are remarkably varied, with some couples negotiating one-off “swinging” or partner-swapping experiences. and others forming stable bonds among three, four or five partners simultaneously. The latter is a version of polyamory, relationships in which people have multiple partnerships at once with the full knowledge of all involved.

via 5 Myths About Polyamory Debunked | LiveScience.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 17, 2013 in Interesting articles

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

The Archived Thoughts of a Former Professional Writer

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKY GO GLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

