RSS

Fangirl Friday – Idris Elba

01 Feb

Irdris ElbaIdrissa Akuna “Idris” Elba (born 6 September 1972) has been a slow burn to igniting my fangirling tendencies.  He’s been on my radar for a while. But when I’ve seen him he’s been clustered with so many of my on-screen crushes that he unfortunately spent a lot of time on the back burner.

I first remember seeing him as Mumbles in RocknRolla.  However, my draw to this movie was the delectable Gerard Butler.  Then next was Rogue in The Losers.  But that had way too many drool worthy cast members; Jeffrey Dean Morgan, pre-Captain America Chris Evans, Zoe Saldana… you get the point.

Idris Elba as Heimdall © 2011 Marvel Characters, Inc.

Idris Elba as Heimdall
© 2011 Marvel Characters, Inc.

But thanks to the internet and the fact the camera loves Mr. Elba, I realized I was definitely missing out. So I was totally hyped to go see him in Thor.  However if you’ve seen the movie you already know most of his wonderful face is covered as he played Heimdall.  I’m hoping for a costume change in Dark World, but I’m not holding my breath.

Luckily I discovered the series Luther was available on Netflix.  Idris is absolutely amazing in the role of troubled British police detective DCI John Luther.  He totally owns the role, brilliant, moody, rageful, and sad.  You don’t know if you want to comfort Luther or smack him for being so reckless. Also his interactions with the sociopath Alice Morgan (Ruth Wilson) makes a pretty intense procedural police show even better.

I haven’t finished watching the series yet.  I’m taking my time, waiting for those quiet times where I can watch and savor every moment of Mr. Elba’s onscreen time like a fine wine.  Counting the days until Pacific Rim is in the theater.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 1, 2013 in Fangirl Friday

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Fangirl Friday – Idris Elba

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

James Pennington

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKYGOGLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

