RSS
Image

Mission: Impossible-Ghost Protocol – Movie 18 of 365

26 Jan

Ghost Protocol

There are two reasons I watched this movie, Jeremy Renner who plays William Brandt and doesn’t show up for the first 40 minutes; and Simon Pegg who plays Benji Dunn and luckily is there from the beginning. Despite my misgivings I actually ended up liking this movie, despite Tom Cruise. I’m sorry he just doesn’t make a good action star in my opinion, nor ensemble cast member. However, since Renner, Pegg, and the lovely Paula Patton who plays Jane Carter do, this movie works. There is some funny moments between Pegg and Renner and the ensemble banter was enough to keep me interested.

The storyline was good but I felt there could’ve been more to it.  The premise of the MI team being out on their own without support from central command helps keep the story line alive.  They make mistakes, things don’t work right and they just can’t call in someone to help them fix it.  Sometimes they just have to use their wits, that vulnerability deepens the characters.

I did enjoy the set ups for the actions scenes particularly the one that takes place during a Dubai sand storm but I could just really care less about the main character Ethan Hunt (Cruise). I know that’s bad, but just couldn’t get over the arrogant, aloof, we are a team but I put the “I” in team, of the main character. Whether that is just Cruise or how Ethan Hunt is supposed to be played I don’t know. Prior to this I’ve only seen the first Mission: Impossible movie and really don’t remember it.

I hear there is going be be a 5th movie and that Pegg and Renner will be back. I guess I’ll have to watch that one as well, but will definitely be waiting for the rental.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 26, 2013 in Movies, Reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

The Archived Thoughts of a Former Professional Writer

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKY GO GLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

