RSS

Fangirl Friday – Jeremy Renner

18 Jan

I didn’t become a fangirl until last year.  Before that, there were particular actors I liked in movies and some musicians who music I loved but I didn’t really obsess over them.  Then came a little movie called The Avengers and all that changed.  I really can’t tell you what about it changed me from normal awkward geek girl to fangirl but I’m sure Jeremy Renner played a major role in it.  Prior to The Avengers I had seen Renner in two other movies, S.W.A.T. and 28 Weeks Later, although I don’t remember his character in either of them.  But after seeing him as Clint Barton/Hawkeye  dramatic sigh I’ve been a hopeless fangirl ever since.  How hopeless of a fangirl?  I started writing fanfiction.  Some say I’m pretty good at it.  My first piece was about Hawkeye of course.   It’s called Doors and occurs  post movie.   I also have a far amount of pins on Pinterest of the very photogenic Mr. Renner.
Jeremy Renner
But good looks aside he’s actually a very good actor as I’m discovering by going back and watching his previous work.  My absolute favorite of his so far is Neo Ned.  Not only is it the offbeat kind of love story that I like but there are parts that are so dramatic they’ll rip your heart out.   Another movie I like him in is the third movie I watched this  year Love Comes to the Executioner.  It’s the great little low-budget, dark comedy you probably never heard of.  Jeremy Renner and Johnathan Tucker star as brother’s Chick and Heck who are in love with the same woman, Dori, played by Ginnifer Goodwin.  Sounds normal right?  Except that Chick and Dori are on death row and Heck is the new executioner.
Heck and Chick have always had sibling rivalry with Chick always taking it to the extreme by destroying things that Heck cares about.  This landed him on death row after killing some of Heck’s classmates after he took Chick’s car without permission.  Heck tried to escape the memories of Chick’s abuses and the other dysfunctions of his family by going away to school only to find himself stuck back home when no one really wants to hire someone with a Latin degree.  But one place needs him, the prison where his brother is imprisoned.  The warden thinks Heck possesses the unique qualities it takes to be a great executioner.   But Heck he just wants to be a teacher.
It’s a great movie, delightfully weird and did I mention Jeremy sings in it.  Check out the clip of it below.
 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 18, 2013 in Fangirl Friday, Movies, Reviews

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Fangirl Friday – Jeremy Renner

Leave a Reply

 
TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

Multimedium Rare

The intersection of life, living and pop culture. All the while trying to leave it better than I found it.

James Pennington

"Oh, that could never happen here. But then again, it might."

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Poly Momma

My experiences with motherhood and polyamory.

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

That Girl with the Dot Com

A Life worth living

Read On ...

Thoughts from the staff of the Lexington Public Library to help you find your next book.

ArchangelTravel

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Bad horror, Good times

Reviewing the best of the bad!

Fabulous Realms

Worlds of Fantasy, Folklore, Myth and Legend

NICKYGOGLAM

A healthy hair and lifestyle blog

